Guest Reviews of our villa in ronda


A magical time at La Cazalla

5 STARS OUT OF 5

There aren’t enough words to capture adequately what an amazing vacation this was. I was celebrating my 60th birthday with 7 of the most important women in my life. Being in Spain was a marvelous experience from start to finish. La Cazalla, our villa rental is stunning, every exquisite detail inside the house a delight to the senses and a reflection of our terrific hosts Mark and Lisa Ruddock. The grounds are breathtaking, with marvelous vistas everywhere you turn. Being at La Cazalla filled every member of our party with a deep tranquility that our regular lives back home too often deny us.

It was Lisa and Mark though that helped make this holiday the wonderful one it was!

“They infused our time there with kindness, generosity of spirit, excellence, and professionalism, bringing every part of our planned itinerary to glorious life. My birthday dinner party and an Afternoon Tea party a few days later were so beautifully executed that I was moved to tears.”

Lisa completely captured the magical experience I was trying to deliver for my daughter, sisters, sister-in-law, and cousins. La Cazalla, the property provided the rest, with a unique ambience all it’s own.

All of our planned excursions to Seville, Ronda, Marbella and Tangiers went off without a hitch thanks to Lisa’s helpful guidance and transportation arrangements. We all agreed that Mark, a skilled chef in his own right, made the best Paella we’ve ever eaten! Our stay at La Cazalla ranks as one of our most memorable vacations ever and we hope to be back again sometime soon.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2018

  • Date of Stay: Oct 2018

  • Source: HomeAway


Outstanding property in fabulous location

5 STARS OUT OF 5

We had a fantastic holiday at La Cazalla and I cannot thank the owners Lisa and Mark enough for all the care and obvious attention to detail they took to ensure the property not only met our needs, but exceeded our expectations. We were a large, noisy group of ten adults, with ages ranging from twenties to early sixties, with a seventeen month old toddler too.

“I have booked numerous properties over the years and this is by far the best I have ever been to. The space, layout and range of facilities ensured that everyone could find a quiet area when they wanted it, but enough communal space to eat indoors, outdoors, up by the pool, or to wander off in the extensive grounds.”

The scenery surrounding the villa is spectacular, with numerous easy footpaths to follow. Lisa and Mark live nearby, which was a real bonus. they were around when we wanted advice, or even to borrow a recipe book. They are extremely friendly and helpful and having Christina there every day to clean was a real bonus, so too was the lovely gardener who provided fresh produce for us to try. The swimming pool area was amazing and far enough away that our little one couldn't wander there on her own. It is a beautiful pool to swim in and having a fridge in the pool house meant cool beers were always to hand. I would love to visit La Cazalle again soon. although it is a bit of a drive from the airport, it is well worth the journey. Many thanks the Regester family.

  • Review Submitted: Sept 19, 2018

  • Date of Stay: Aug 2018

  • Source: HomeAway

Amazing experience! Relaxed and family friendly

5 STARS OUT OF 5

Lisa and Mark were extremely helpful before, during and after our stay. The villa is perfectly located, at a peaceful countryside, yet convenience to the nearest town. The villa is beautifully designed and decorated and we all had some lovely family time. The kitchen is well equipped and had some nice BBQ too! We would definitely love to revisit the place again! By the way, Mark’s cooking skill was great, we all enjoyed the delicious paella :-)

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2018

  • Date of Stay: Oct 2018

  • Source: HomeAway


Beautiful house and gardens with a lovely pool

5 STARS OUT OF 5

Fantastic large house, beautiful inside and out, spectacular terraces for eating and sitting, and all this with wonderful views. Lovely pool and sitting area with plenty of shade, and 'pool room' with cold water & fridge, and nearby bathroom with shower. Exceptionally well equipped kitchen for home cooking for large numbers. Owners extremely helpful before arrival and while we were there. Housekeeper and gardener came every day and were excellent.

"Lovely area, plenty of local walks with great bird and wildlife. A wonderful mix of luxury and rural, with the added benefit of horses and a cat to pet!"

This is definitely the best villa we've stayed in, would highly recommend, it's even nicer than the photos if possible!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2017

  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017

  • Source: HomeAway


Wonderful Villa & Great Location

5 STARS OUT OF 5

What a wonderful villa and great location. Thank you Lisa for being so accomodating and helpful with all the arrangements and thank you Christina (the houskeeper who came in daily) for all your help and for doing the pre shop for us (as we arrived on a Sunday)

We stayed for 7 nights at La Cazalla between 10th and 17th July. Our party of 8 adults and 3 children absolutley loved the place. it definatley lived up to the decription and provided the ideal combination of genuine seclusion as well as being in easy distance to the town.

"The villa is incredibly spacious with lots of areas to sit and lounge around and was also lovely and cool during the day even with the scortching temperatures outside."

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016

  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016

  • Source: HomeAway


This is the best house we have ever booked!

5 STARS OUT OF 5

From the moment of our arrival, we were taken aback by the beauty of the setting and the quality of the house. It was perfectly laid out with the bedrooms on one floor opening onto a central living space and the main living area, kitchen and dining room on the lower level.

“We will be spreading the word to all of our friends about this well-kept secret!”

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2016

  • Date of Stay: May 2016

  • Source: HomeAway

Amazing Property in a Stunning Location

5 STARS OUT OF 5

When we arrived at La Cazalla

"our breath was taken away by the beauty of the location, and the villa was a match for its surroundings."

Lisa and Mark, the owners, went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We were there for a week, and many of us barely left the villa for the whole time -- it was that enjoyable! The pool was particularly appreciated for cooling off as the weather was very hot during our stay. We'd definitely recommend this villa to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2018

  • Date of Stay: June 2018

  • Source: HomeAway


stunning home away from home

5 STARS OUT OF 5

The home is beautiful and perfect for larger groups of friends. There are en suite bathrooms in each room. Beds are very comfortable . The downstairs area has two sitting areas and one has a magnificent Fireplace. the kitchen will gladden any chef’s heart.

"Set between rocky outcrops with footpaths meandering through flower covered fields one cannot but have one’s breath taken away."

What a gorgeous swimming pool with a view.

Lisa and Mark, the owners, were perfect hosts and very helpful in arranging any activity available.

Do not be put off by the bumpy road. There’s a wonderful reward awaiting you at the end.

Highly recommended !!

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2018

  • Date of Stay: May 2018

  • Source: HomeAway


Beautiful villa in stunning countryside - SUPERB

5 STARS OUT OF 5

One of the best villa stays I have ever experienced.

"La Cazalla is a dream - a gorgeous house full of lovely bedrooms, stylish sitting areas and outside eating spots surrounded by unspoilt countryside, oak forests, rivers and mountains."

With 16 acres of nature to enjoy, fruit laden trees, stunning views and occasional sightings of deer and wild Andulasian horse, it is the perfect spot to sit and relax, to chill or to sunbathe and swim. In fact, the villa is so great and so welcoming, you don't want to leave - even though the delights of Ronda are just ten minutes drive away.

Highly recommended for groups of up to 12 people, the house is big enough and spaced out for people to relax without being bothered - as well as intimate enough to enjoy each other's company for dinner and drinks on the terrace.

I will definitely be coming back soon. I miss it already!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2017

  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017

  • Source: HomeAway

 
HomeAway Property
Read or Write Reviews
 

"Gorgeous Villa, Gorgeous Location!"

Reviewed for a stay in August 2018

We stayed in La Cazalla de Ronda country house for our 2018 Annual family holiday. The villa is really fantastic with SO much space for a large family/group. 
All 6 rooms have their own en suites/ showers which is ideal (& rare to find) and all rooms where hugely spacious. The house literally has all the amenities you could wish for from the kitchen to the pool and an array of books, magazines & games to choose from.
The pool was the perfect size and there was loads of seating areas to cater for a big family. The grounds in general were so beautiful and it is the perfect place to truly switch off which is what you want when on holidays.

"The hosts were unbelievably helpful from start to finish and offer catering + chef options should you want a night off form cooking. You also have use of the fresh herbs & vegetables from the Jardin del Chef."

5 star service, 5 star location!


“La Cazalla est une villa exceptionnelle dans un cadre naturel d'exception!”

Reviewed for a stay in August 2017

La Cazalla est un véritable hâvre de paix:une villa splendide,décorée avec goût et très soignée,trés confortable, apaisante,logée dans un parc fleuri et parfumé de Lavandes et de romarin .

La propriété regorge de patios que nous avons découverts au gré de nos explorations,tant elle est vaste. Un paradis pour les animaux aussi,même un cerf nous a rendu visite les nuits!!

La villa est super équipée,cuisine professionnelle,bbq au gaz,jeux pour enfants(Wii...), bibliothèque exceptionnelle,musique,wifi, literie extra et de l'eau douce et potable provenant de la source pour nous doucher et nous désaltérer.

L'accueil par les propriétaires fut chaleureux,sincère et généreux. .ils nous ont même préparé un panier garni de leurs productions (figues,olives,amandes,coings..et sachets de lavande!)

Cristina a discrètement entretenu la maison quotidiennementet nous a conseillé efficacement à propos des points d'intérêt de Ronda. Nous nous souviendrons de son magnifique sourire!!

“Bref,un paradis pour une ou des familles,avec ou sans enfants...tout le monde peut y trouver son bonheur.”

Merci aussi à Lisa pour nous avoir conseillé la visite du"Caminito del Rey",site naturel vertigineux non loin de Ronda,ainsi que les bons restos!!


“Excellent villa and facilities in beautiful surroundings”

Reviewed for a stay in June 2017

La Cazalla fully lived up to our expectations.

"Everything we needed for our wide family celebration. inside and outside facilities were excellent."

Comfortable beds and children loved the colourful shower lights! Living areas and kitchen fully equipped. The chef recommended to us by Lisa for our barbeque was fantastic.
The setting of the villa within very easy reach of Ronda was amazing. Beautiful walk through the gorge seeing falcons, vulture, wild boar and deer.


“La Cazalla-A Piece of Paradise”

Reviewed for a stay in September 2015

Unglaublich schönes Haus, alles war perfekt!

Reviewed for a stay in March 2018

Wir waren mit einer Gruppe von 10 Freunden für eine Woche in dem Haus.

“Das Haus ist unglaublich schön gelegen, total einsam, aber dennoch nah an der wunderschönen Stadt Ronda. Es ist sehr luxuriös, mit allem was man braucht.”

Die Vermieter waren sehr hilfsbereit, wir bekamen viele Infos und sogar Geschenke (Olivenöl). Der Pool ist traumhaft sowohl für uns Erwachsene, die Kinder und für den Hund. Wir würden jederzeit wieder dort Urlaub machen und bedanken uns herzlich für die Gastfreundschaft.


Schöne Auszeit in wundervoller Lage

Reviewed for a stay in March 2018

Wir waren zu neunt plus kind und kleinem Hund Mitte März für 4 Tage dort. Auch wenn der Andalusische Frühling nicht so wollte wie wir, waren wir total geflasht von der tollen Landschaft und vor allem dem tollen Haus. Weitläufig, liebevoll eingerichtet, toller Kamin, super Gastgeber, etc.....
Gerne wieder


“Luxurious large villa in beautiful setting with lovely pool”

Reviewed for a stay in August 2017

Our party of three families (6 adults, 5 teens) had a lovely week in this beautifully appointed and spacious villa near the picturesque town of Ronda. The setting in a limestone gorge is spectacular - the villa is set in large grounds, where horses and deer roam, and the house is built around the rocky outcrops.

"The villa is furnished beautifully, and we arrived to thoughtful touches like fresh flowers and a tray of local produce."

The bedrooms in the villa are all ensuite and equally spacious, and there are a number of different seating areas both inside (which was always cool) and outside on shaded terraces. 
We spent most of our time on the shaded terraces or down by the pool, which has comfortable loungers for everyone and shade sails, and a stunning view. The teens found a selection of inflatables in the pool room (with fridge and chilled water cooler!) and spent many happy hours disturbing the tranquillity. 
The daily maid service from Cristina and garden/pool service from Ronaldo was unobtrusive and a real contribution to our relaxing holiday. 
It was hard to tear ourselves away from the villa, but we did manage a couple of trips to Ronda, and the Caminito del Rey canyon boardwalk. Just as lovely was the walk from the gates of the property up the gorge path - sadly we didn't make it all the way to the restaurant Lisa recommended at the far end....
Lisa and Mark were helpful and informative owners, and were always on hand via text/email to answer our questions. We also took them up on Mark's offer of "paella and pudding" which was cooked and served to us at the villa - absolutely delicious, both the standard one and the vegan one that Mark managed to create!
We were all delighted with the villa and had a fantastic week in your beautiful property - thank you!


“Wonderful property in stunning location”

Reviewed for a stay in August 2015

Enjoyed two weeks in this beautiful property. Spacious accommodation, attentive and caring owners, gorgeous pool and stunning rural setting. If you are looking for peace and solitude then this is the ideal property.

“Best villa ever - utterly superb and gorgeous”

Reviewed for a stay in August 2017

One of the best villa stays I have ever experienced. La Cazalla is a dream - a gorgeous house full of lovely bedrooms, stylish sitting areas and outside eating spots surrounded by unspoilt countryside, oak forests, rivers and mountains.

"With 16 acres of nature to enjoy, fruit laden trees, stunning views and occasional sightings of deer and wild Andulasian horse, it is the perfect spot to sit and relax, to chill or to sunbathe and swim. In fact, the villa is so great and so welcoming, you don't want to leave - even though the delights of Ronda are just ten minutes drive away."

Highly recommended for groups of up to 12 people, the house is big enough and spaced out for people to relax without being bothered - as well as intimate enough to enjoy each other's company for dinner and drinks on the terrace.
I will definitely be coming back soon. I miss it already!


“Family celebration in spectacular style”

Reviewed for a stay in July 2016

My parents were looking to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary in Spain. My part of the family lives in Marbella, and my brother was coming over from New Zealand, my parents and other family members from the UK.
We were looking for somewhere where the family could all be together and undisturbed by other guests.... more of that later.
My wife and I visited Lisa & Mark at La Cazalla and were instantly convinced that this was THE place.
When we arrived as a family we were over the moon at how excited everyone was by the house - it was simply perfect for what we wanted to do - which was simply to be together and relax. And relax we did.

“If you are looking to enjoy an enchanted location in the midst of Andalucia you can stop - you’ve found it.”

With wonderful bedrooms, each with its own ensuite shower and toilet, and the different areas - both inside and out - create a wonderful atmosphere.
The pool area is simply delightful - so much so that the two excursions we had planned with the family- one to the brandy bodegas of Jerez and another to Azahara de la Sierra, were cancelled after the first night - no-one wanted to leave!
The housekeeper, Cristina, who came for a couple of hours each day was lovely - she took great care of us - nothing was too much trouble.
The views and the gardens are delightful - it was a wrench to finally have to leave - and this was when the only other guests made their appearance - as we left the property five impressive adult deer ran in front of the car and up into the mountains - what a wonderful finale to a fabulous week. If you are looking to enjoy an enchanted location in the midst of Andalucia you can stop - you've found it.


“What a magical place...”

Reviewed for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at La Cazalla a few times years ago and returning more than 10 years later didn't disappoint, it truly is a unique setting.

"It has oodles of charm, feels like a timeless place that's nestled in the beautiful valley for ever, so peaceful... yet less than 10 mins and you're in the outskirts of Ronda, with all it's great restaurants."

I'm loathed to review it in case everyone goes and we no longer can. Equally, it's just so lovely, I feel compelled to rave about it! Plenty of space for two or even three families. We will be going back, you should go!

 
 

Guest Reviews From AirBnb

Erica - June 2018

5 STARS OUT OF 5

I celebrated my 40th birthday weekend at La Cazalla with close family and friends.

"What an unforgettably perfect weekend, it was pure magic! From the time we arrived we were blown away. The photos do not do this incredible place justice because it is impossible to capture the magic flowing through the space!"

The house is gorgeous with a distinctly Spanish feel, accented with stunning pieces of decor from around the world. Every room has an on suite bathroom so every person had their privacy. We were a group of 9 adults and 4 children and we had more than enough room to all feel very comfortable. As we arrived we were greeted by lovely Lisa and Mark. Lisa had put together a tray of goodies she had made from the land including delicious fig chutney, blackberry jam and their own delicious olive oil! We were also each gifted a bag of dried lavender on our pillows, they smell heavenly!! We were shown around the venue, so many personal touches around each corner, including a map of a trail with information about the land and wildlife in the area, Molton Brown bath products and loads of books, games, pool toys etc. to keep every family member entertained! I could go on about how wonderful everything was but I need to talk about the highlight of my weekend, my birthday! Firstly, my day began with a fantastic walk along an ancient stone trail where I got to see three stags on the property, discovered a stream and sacred cave, and I was also greeted over the fence by beautiful horses. Knowing it was my birthday, Lisa recommended and arranged a flamenco dancer, guitarist and singer from Ronda to come perform at the house. But she didn’t book just anyone for me, she booked the top flamenco singer from Ronda who is extremely difficult to book, as well the most incredible dancer and guitarist. It was a performance I will never forget! Lisa also recommended a personal chef which would’ve probably been amazing! Added to that, she also arranged tickets to a concert at a wine farm in Ronda for us, the setting was stunning and the crowd was discerning, such a fantastic recommendation once again! All in all I cannot recommend La Cazalla more! Lisa and Mark have a tangible love for the land and the house, and it shows! Thank you Lisa, Mark and Victoria, I cannot wait to visit again!! Erica and family xxx

Anita - July 2018

5 STARS OUT OF 5

La Cazalla is a beautiful property with lots of character, in a stunning location. We had a wonderful week here catching up with family (6 adults and 7 children). There was so much space for everyone, in side and out, and lots of shaded areas to relax in.

"Lisa and Mark were amazing hosts and had thought of everything to make our stay special and unique."

We thoroughly enjoyed their home made products, especially the dried figs and lemon marmalade, the paella supper they cooked us on our first night and the 3 course dinner cooked by personal chef Deborah was outstanding and well worth the money. They essentially provided us a concierge service and were at hand 24/7 to answer any questions we had, help with restaurant recommendations and bookings and organise taxis on days the adults didn’t want to drive. Thank you Lisa & Mark and the team for making our stay so enjoyable!


PIETER - MAY 2018

5 STARS OUT OF 5

"This place beats expectations and the pictures."

Strict, friendly hosts go the extra mile towards assistance in accommodation incl extra activities. One can spend the full period not leaving the property, running, swimming, feasting with friends. We celebrated my 50th with a total of 23 friends incl a fabulous dinner cooked by a local chef and a famous flamenco band, both recommended by Lisa. Shopping done in advance by hosts met our arrival with a stocked kitchen. All in all a commendable place for spending quality time with friends.


PETER - SEPT 2017

5 STARS OUT OF 5

The place to stay in Ronda.


CHRISTINE - JUNE 2016

5 STARS OUT OF 5

We were a group of 8 adults and all of us loved the place and felt very welcome.

"La Cazalla lived up to its every description. It is a simply beautiful house in a beautiful setting."

The house is fascinating with parts of the wall built into the limestone. There are numerous sitting areas both inside and outside. Furnishings are lovely with vibrant colors. The house is also furnished with many pictures, objects and books of great interest. The kitchen is well-appointed and abundant with gifts of locally grown nuts and fruit jams. All the bedrooms were equally attractive and comfortable. The grounds feature many flowers and especially beautiful lavender, all tended with loving care. The swimming pool is architecturally lovely with perfect temperature water. And a wonderful surprise is an old shaded pool that feels like one has stumbled into an Arab ruin. The young caretaker, Cristina was very kind and welcoming and the hosts did much to answer our questions and concerns ahead of time and to ensure that we were very comfortable. We enjoyed beautiful Ronda and the surrounding area.


KATHRYN - AUG 2015

5 STARS OUT OF 5

Mark and Liza were the perfect hosts making us feel so welcome in their idyllic house in an idyllic location. On hand if we needed them but very discreet. The property is beautiful and offers very comfortable accomodation - bedrooms, living space, well equipped kitchen, outdoor terrace and secluded pool.

"We loved the fact that we felt as if we were in the middle of no-where yet we could drive into Ronda in moment and explore the amazing historical town with its many bars and restaurants."

We had a very relaxing holiday and enjoyed visiting local attractions such as the Bull Ring in Ronda and the Cueva de Gato, walking through the gorge from the house and simply soaking up the Andalusian sun. Kate and Hugh